English French German Italian Portuguese Russian Spanish

MICUA Presidents Reject American Studies Association Boycott

On December 4, 2013, the American Studies Association (ASA) passed a resolution endorsing a boycott of Israeli academic institutions. As the Presidents of Maryland’s independent colleges and universities, we believe that such a boycott is antithetical to the principles of academic freedom, intellectual inquiry, and the open exchange of ideas to which we as educators have dedicated our professional careers and on which our institutions rest. Indeed, one of the primary responsibilities of the Academy, based on a long and honorable tradition, is to provide an opportunity and a venue for all voices to be heard in a respectful manner.

Further, the curtailing of discussion and dialogue, as this boycott demands, will not resolve any of the difficult challenges facing the Israeli and Palestinian peoples as they strive for a peaceful and just resolution of their differences.

In support of academic freedom, we the undersigned reject the ASA boycott of institutions of higher education in Israel and academic boycotts in general.

Dr. Michael T. Wood, President, Capitol College
Mr. Sanford J. Ungar, President, Goucher College
Dr. Ronald J. Volpe, President, Hood College
Mr. Ronald J. Daniels, President, Johns Hopkins University
Rev. Brian Linnane, S.J., President, Loyola University Maryland
Mr. Fred Lazarus, IV, President, Maryland Institute College of Art
Dr. Roger Casey, President, McDaniel College
Dr. Thomas H. Powell, President, Mount St. Mary’s University
Rabbi Sheftel M. Neuberger, President, Ner Israel Rabbinical College
Dr. Joan Develin Coley, President, Notre Dame of Maryland University
Mr. Christopher B. Nelson, President, St. John’s College
Rev. Thomas R. Hurst, S.S., President-Rector, St. Mary’s Seminary and University
Dr. Kevin J. Manning, President, Stevenson University
Dr. Weymouth Spence, Ed.D., R.T., President, Washington Adventist University
Dr. Mitchell Reiss, President, Washington College
Ms. Tina Bjarekull, President, Maryland Independent College & University Association