English French German Italian Portuguese Russian Spanish

Six Teachers of the Year have Ties to MICUA Campuses

Each year, Maryland’s 24 school systems honor their best teachers through the Teacher of the Year program. This year, six alumni from MICUA member institutions were named Teacher of the Year at the county level: Loyola University Maryland and McDaniel College graduate, Heather Carnaghan (Anne Arundel County); McDaniel College and Notre Dame of Maryland University (NDMU) graduate, Dr. Melaney Sanchez (Calvert County); and McDaniel College graduates, Tina Thomen (Carroll County); Timothy Snyder (Frederick County); Amelia Markosian (Kent County); and Rhonda Moore (Queen Anne's County). Heather Carnaghan and Tina Thomen have also been named finalists for the Maryland Teacher of the Year, which will be named on October 12.

All six winners had ties to McDaniel College, which has had at least one alumnus/a win County Teacher of the Year for the past ten years. In six out of the last seven years, the statewide Maryland Teacher of the Year winner has graduated from a MICUA school. Throughout the years, several of the State winners went on to be recognized in the National Teacher of the Year competition: the 2010-2011 winner graduated from McDaniel College; a 2012-2013 runner-up was a McDaniel College graduate; the 2013-2014 winner was a Goucher College graduate; and a 2016-2017 runner-up graduated from Maryland Institute College of Art.

Of MICUA's 13 members, 11 prepare highly-qualified teachers for Maryland classrooms through State-approved teacher preparation programs, collectively producing one third of the State's annual new teacher candidates. NDMU is the second largest producer of teacher candidates in Maryland; Stevenson University was the first institution in Maryland to offer a middle school certification program; and several MICUA institutions offer unique programs for students with special needs.

Both Carnaghan and Thomen have been named among the seven finalists for the Statewide Teacher of the Year, which will be announced on October 12, 2018.